Sunset Jesus

Use of Ten Codes

The use of ten codes in many departments is being phased out. I am a student in protective services, I've taken multiple FEMA and NIMS courses. The use of plain English is standard and is commonly enforced in incident management. The meaning of different codes also varies in different regions, so it makes it much more difficult for inter agency operations. Whether law enforcement, EMS, or firefighting, they don't tend to use them anymore. I recommend removing them from police protocols in order to make radio transmissions easier to understand from those who talk quickly or who don't have the best mic.

Edited by Sunset Jesus

We use 10 codes to clear radio traffic and MAKE IT EASIER to understand people and have them to the point so that all officers and deputies are able to know priority situations. If we were to remove the 10 codes it would fuck everything over causing it to be more aids then it already is on the radio.

If we used plain talk it would take longer than needed. Example:

Plain talk-

U-3: "This is Unit-3 conducting a traffic stop on a green range rover at speed 2, no additionals required at this current moment in time"

10 Codes-

U-3: "This is Unit-3 10-33 on a green range rover speed cam 2, no additionals required at this current time"

10 Codes example is to the point, it allows radio traffic to be cleared faster and more efficiently than plain talk. In removing the 10 codes it would cause radio traffic to be backed up and possibly have units not be able to hear priority traffic if someone is calling in a priority situation because someone is clogging the radio with plain talk to call in a 10-33.

Saying 10 codes does not save much time over saying things straight forwards. Both 10-33 and traffic stop can be said out loud. I definitely like the idea of removing them to make PD less intimidating to the newer players; however, I do like the feeling of "RP" that they add - both sides have their benefits.